Flamespyre Phoenix

In what might be considered a somewhat miraculous evening at my house, I actually sat down to paint last night. Not only did I start painting a model, but I managed to finish it in a single evening!

 

For the longest time, I have been saving images that I see of phoenixes that I like. There are some absolutely gorgeous ones available on ebay and one in particular had caught my eye. It appeared to me that the person had used an airbrush to paint it, but I set about trying to match it as best I could. After the first 30 minutes or so, it was fairly apparent that I either lacked the skill/technique/tools to accomplish it, so I just decided to do what I could with what I had.

After about 3 hours of painting, I was quite pleased with the results:

2 responses to “Flamespyre Phoenix

    • Thank you. I would probably have to agree with you on it being my best one. I am pleasantly surprised how it turned out. I probably need to give quite a bit of credit to GW’s model, because I had to fall back on drybrushing and overbrushing to pull it all together. It is nice to finally have the model completed to go with the base, which was completed months ago. Now, I just need to find a good method to mount it. I am a bit leery of the ball joint and flying stand that it came with.

Leave a Reply

