Gaming is not dead

My blog has been fairly silent recently since I haven’t been doing any tabletop hobby.

I have still been doing plenty of gaming, but I have been spending most of it playing video games. I find that it is much easier to fire them up than to get all of my stuff out to paint some models. With that being said, I am starting to feel the urge to get back to painting, so hopefully I will have some updates within the next month.

My oldest son and I have been playing quite a few board games. We have played Civilization (with the Fame and Fortune expansion), Lord of the Rings Risk, The Hobbit, 7 Wonders (with the Cities expansion). I also played Letter of Marque with all 3 of my kids a while back. Having a 2-year old “play” that game makes it a bit of a wild card.

Although I have planned to try and finish painting the list that I used earlier this year, I have been messing with lists once again. Maybe the next one will be the same, or maybe it will be different. Regardless, the hobby is stirring once again…

3 responses to “Gaming is not dead

  1. Gaming is gaming, and it is nice to get a good variety in. Getting to play with your children is great; mine are still at the snakes and ladders stage. 7 Wonders has become quite a popular option in our gaming group for when there is not enough table space to accommodate the wargames.

    • Yeah, I find it much easier to play games in my house, than being gone for 4 hours or so to get in a game of Warhammer. It is nice now that my son is 8, so that we can play some more challenging games. He still misses the more complex strategies, but he can give it a good effort and has fun while doing so (which is more than I can say for when I tried playing these with my wife).

      I have been thinking about breaking out my Lord of the Rings Strategy Battle Game models to get him started with that. Maybe later this year…

      I really like 7 Wonders. All of the symbols can be a pain at the beginning, but once everybody has played it a time or two, it moves along quite quickly, and it still has good strategy with it.

  2. Hang in there, I believe if you’re a gamer this point affects each and every one of us. I’ve been there before too. Hope to see you around soon!

Leave a Reply

