2500 Point Tournament – Valentine’s Day Massacre Results – February 22nd

Well, the dust has settled after the tournament on Saturday, and it is once again time to chronicle my games and reflect on the errors that I made. The list that I took is the same as mentioned previously here.

There ended up being 20 players total at the tournament, which is a really good turnout for the area. Over half of the field traveled for a couple of hours to get there. The tournament turned out to be a bit of an invasion by the evil forces of the Warhammer world. Why do so many players play all of the bad guys?

I actually remembered to take some pictures for once. Many of them are kind of blurry, but they are useful to describe situations easier. Also, it seems that I took less and less of each game.

Game 1: High Elves vs. Vampire Counts

Scenario: Kill the opponent’s characters

Bonus Points: +3 for killing opponent’s characters. +1 for each terrain piece controlled (max +2)

This was my first game since November, and my first 2500 point game for probably a year or two. Needless to say, considerable rust has built up over that amount of time. Also, this was my first time ever playing against Vampire Counts.

My Deployment:

Opponent’s Deployment:

Those who are better at this game than me, can probably already see some issues after the deployment. I will try to point out any errors that I think that I made after recounting the game.

After vanguard moves, I ended up with 1st turn.

The Phoenix flies in front of the Bolt Thowers to provide them protection from the advancing Hex Wraiths. The Reavers that were in front of the Silver Helms move to the center of the board.

The Phoenix flies in front of the Bolt Thowers to provide them protection from the advancing Hex Wraiths. The Reavers that were in front of the Silver Helms move to the center of the board.

I move the Phoenix Guard and Swordmasters up to get in range with my magic missiles.

I move the Phoenix Guard and Swordmasters up to get in range with my magic missiles.

The reavers on the right flank advanced. The black ones shot at the zombies and the grey ones fired on the wolves.

The Reavers on the right flank advanced. The black ones shot at the zombies and the grey ones fired on the wolves.

If I remember correctly, I nailed his Crypt Horrors with the medium Fireball. and maybe a Soul Quench, too. I think I managed to cause 4 wounds total. Of course, he stops the boosted version of Burning Gaze on them. The Bolt Throwers fail to hit/wound the Terrorgheist.

His zombies charge my Reavers, who promptly flee. You can't see it here, but the Dire Wolves advance down my far right flank.

His zombies charge my Reavers, who promptly flee. You can’t see it here, but the Dire Wolves advance down my far right flank.

He moves everything up on my left flank, getting his Hexwraiths out of the charge arc of all of my stuff. He also summoned some zombies to block up my Silver Helms.

He moves everything up on my left flank, getting his Hexwraiths out of the charge arc of all of my stuff. He also summoned some zombies to block up my Silver Helms.

Also, not pictured was that he moved his Necromancer and unit into the building.

My Silver Helms make short work of the summoned zombies. I elect not to overrun. Meanwhile, the Flamespyre flies over the Ghoul unit, and faces back towards the Hexwraiths.

My Silver Helms make short work of the summoned zombies. I elect not to overrun. Meanwhile, the Flamespyre flies over the Ghoul unit, and faces back towards the Hexwraiths.

On the right, my Swordmasters and Phoenix Guard await the coming melee. The Reavers get in the way, so that hopefully I can charge. The Reavers on the far right reformed after charging into the flank of the Wolves and wiping them out.

On the right, my Swordmasters and Phoenix Guard await the coming melee. The Loremaster gets through the Death signature spell, but does nothing. The Reavers get in the way, so that hopefully I can charge. The Reavers on the far right reformed after charging into the flank of the Wolves and wiping them out.

I think that my son took this picture of the Ghouls with the Vampire in them with the Phoenix behind.

I think that my son took this picture of the Ghouls with the Vampire in them with the Phoenix behind.

I think that my magic this turn was a big failure. One of the bolt throwers finally managed to cause a couple of wounds on the Terrorgheist, though.

The Terrorgheist flies up and screams off two of my Silver Helms. Also, you might notice a more considerable unit of zombies once again in front of my Silver Helms.

The Terrorgheist flies up and screams off two of my Silver Helms. Also, you might notice a more considerable unit of zombies once again in front of my Silver Helms.

His Hexwraiths charge into my rightmost Bolt Thrower, wiping it out. His Crypt Horrors charge my Reavers, who end up fleeing, and manage to fail 3/4 of the Dangerous Terrain tests they make. The horrors redirect into the Swordmasters, but roll poorly. Also, his Mortis Engine manages to cause a couple of wounds on the Phoenix with its blast thingy.

Phoenix Guard and Swordmasters charge the Crypt Horrors

Phoenix Guard and Swordmasters charge the Crypt Horrors

Silver Helms wipe out the Zombies, and I once again don't overrun. The Phoenix charged over the top of the Ghouls to engage the Hexwraiths.

Silver Helms wipe out the Zombies, and I once again don’t overrun. The Phoenix charged over the top of the Ghouls to engage the Hexwraiths.

Well, the combat didn't go as well as I had hoped. The Swordmasters managed to fail their Fear test. The Phoenix Guard turned broke, but the Swordmasters managed to stick around. Also, I managed to fail 2 of my 2+ Ward Saves for the Phoenix fight, but I took a couple out.

Well, the combat didn’t go as well as I had hoped. The Swordmasters managed to fail their Fear test. Between that and his re-rollable 4+ Regen, I lost the combat. The Phoenix Guard broke and fled, but the Swordmasters managed to stick around. Also, I managed to fail 2 of my 2+ Ward Saves for the Phoenix fight, but you will notice a couple of Hexwraiths missing.

I think that I forgot to take pictures of the his next turn, so I will just have to try to describe what happened. My Swordmasters lost the fight on the right. His Crypt Horrors had a big overrun and managed to run down the Swordmasters and the already fleeing Phoenix Guard. The Phoenix whittled down some more Hexwraiths and the Terrorgheist screamed off some more Silver Helms.

My Silver Helms charge into the Ghouls. The Bolt Thrower can't get through the Terrorgheist's Regen. The Flamespyre finishes off the Hexwraits.

My Silver Helms charge into the Ghouls. The Bolt Thrower can’t get through the Terrorgheist’s Regen. The Flamespyre finishes off the Hexwraits.

On the right, my black Reavers rally, and the Grey ones shoot at the Mortis engine, to no effect.

On the right, my black Reavers rally, and the Grey ones shoot at the Mortis engine, to no effect.

My High Helm (Silver Helm champion) challenged the Vampire Lord, and he ended up getting the maximum overkill bonus. The Silver Helms and BSB did some damage, but they failed their double 1 break test and were caught. The Terrorgheist screamed off the final wound of the Phoenix. I think that the Dire Wolves charged my Bolt Thrower, killing it, but maybe it survived. Other than that, it was only the 7 Reavers on the right that survived. Maybe if I would have remembered to roll for my Phoenix, it might have made a miraculous recovery.

Result: 0-20. Massacre to my opponent. Since I had hardly anything left on the table, and I hadn’t removed much of his army, this is no surprise.

Thoughts:  For starters, I was very unprepared for this game. The only thing that I knew about Vampire Counts has been what I have heard on podcasts. I knew that the Vampire Lord was scary in combat, and that the Terrorgheist scream can cause problems.

Thinking back on this now, I think that I probably should have just castled up on my right side of the board. This would have allowed me to be as far as possible from the Garden, which was giving him many bonuses. Also, I could have just sat back, firing off my Magic Missiles and Bolt Thrower shots at him. Clearly, deploying the BSB away from my other combat units was a big mistake. At the time, I just thought it would be a good idea for the cavalry to be on the flank, but having the BSB over there was kind of dumb. Another problem with the deployment was that the Archmage wasn’t able to use Hand of Glory on the Bolt Throwers since I had deployed him so far away.

With how I deployed, maybe I should have been more aggressive with the Silver Helms, but I assumed it only would have brought the Vampire and Ghoul block into combat more quickly. Also, maybe I should have been more aggressive at attacking the Mortis Engine. To be honest, I was having a hard time keeping up with where all of the special rules were coming from. A big fail on my part.

Game 2: High Elves vs. Warriors of Chaos

Scenario: Magic Flux. Double 6 and Double X (where X is the turn number) are Irresistible Force and Miscasts

Bonus Points: Killing opponent’s wizards or for rolling double Xs.

Well, I have played Warriors of Chaos before, but this was my first time facing off against a Chimaera, Daemon Prince and double Hellcannons. I had heard many things about how scary these can be. Even though his Daemon Prince has wings, he does not have the Fly ability.

Deployment:

Despite having to roll for deployment, I thought that it didn’t turn out too bad for me. The Silver Helms and BSB was next to the Swordmasters. The Phoenix Guard were all alone on the flank, but you can’t have it all.

Unfortunately, the game started off quite poorly. I failed to dispel Doom and Darkness. Then, a Hellcannon hit them and they fled off of the board. So much for having the BSB close to my battle line…

Despite the blurriness, you can kind of see that my Phoenix and Reavers have moved up by his Nurgle Warriors and Daemon Prince.

Despite the blurriness, you can kind of see that my Phoenix and Reavers have moved up by his Nurgle Warriors and Daemon Prince.

The Phoenix Guard angle to try and protect the Slaughterbrute, while the Reavers move up to shoot at it.

The Phoenix Guard fail their quick reform, so they just turn to try to protect the Bolt Thrower from the Slaughterbrute, while the Reavers move up to shoot at it.

I think that it was this turn that I manage to get Arcane Unforging off on the Daemon Prince and destroy his Dragonbane Gem. The boosted Burning Gaze fails, though. It might have been the next turn, though… My Bolt Throwers at his Hellcannons, but didn’t do much.

The Chimaera stares down the flank of the Swordmasters

The Chimaera stares down the flank of the Swordmasters

His Slaughterbrute had moved up. My Phoenix Guard engage it in combat. It breaks and they run it down. Also, you can see that my Reavers have circled the back of the Hellcannon to shoot it some more.

His Slaughterbrute had moved up. My Phoenix Guard engage it in combat. It breaks and they run it down. Also, you can see that my Reavers have circled the back of the Hellcannon to shoot it some more.

My Phoenix flies over his Nurgle warriors, not really doing a whole lot. The Reavers shoot some more at the Daemon Prince, doing nothing.

My Phoenix flies over his Nurgle warriors, not really doing a whole lot. The Reavers shoot some more at the Daemon Prince, doing nothing.

His Chimaera charges into the flank of my Swordmasters. I manage to stop the Doom and Darkness, but he gets off Soulblight on them. Between the Chimaera;s attacks, breath, and Thunderstomp, he kills quite a few, but they are steadfast. They reform to face the creature for my turn of combat. On the left flank, his Tzeentch warriors engage my Phoenix Guard, and the combat lasts for the rest of the game. My are keeping his Nurgle warriors from advancing quickly. By this time, his Hellcannon in the center of the board has eaten all of its handlers.

The Swordmasters are quite pumped up for the combat. Wildform counters the Soulblight, but they are WS9 from Hand of Glory and a 5+ Ward from Shield of Saphery. The Phoenix flew over the Daemon Prince, using Walk Between Worlds but didn't really do anything to him.

The Swordmasters are quite pumped up for the combat. Wildform counters the Soulblight, but they are WS9 from Hand of Glory and a 5+ Ward from Shield of Saphery. The Phoenix flew over the Daemon Prince, using Walk Between Worlds but didn’t really do anything to him.

Despite all of their buffs, the Swordmasters only get 2 wounds through. They break from combat, and the Chimaera catches them, sending a unit of reavers running through his Nurgle warriors.

Despite all of their buffs, the Swordmasters only get 2 wounds through. They break from combat, and the Chimaera catches them, sending a unit of reavers running through his Nurgle warriors.

The battle on the left flank. By the end of the game, I was regularly remembering to have him test for Fear. He never failed one, though, but he did have to use that BSB re-roll a couple of times.

The battle on the left flank. By the end of the game, I was regularly remembering to have him test for Fear. He never failed one, though, but he did have to use that BSB re-roll a couple of times.

I don't particularly remember what happened here, but my Phoenix is in a bad spot. Also, that wound really seems to have gotten to his Daemon Prince. His wing fell off.

I don’t particularly remember what happened here, but my Phoenix is in a bad spot. Maybe this was after he died and came back to life? Also, that wound really seems to have gotten to his Daemon Prince. His wing fell off.

This blank spot in the table is where my Reavers used to be. If I recall correctly, the Hellcannon ate them.

This blank spot in the table is where my Reavers used to be. If I recall correctly, the Hellcannon ate them.

My Phoenix Guard nearly die to the man, before finally fleeing and being caught.

My Phoenix Guard nearly die to the man, before finally fleeing and being caught.

In the bottom right corner, my Bolt Thrower failed to stop the Chimaera bearing down on it. It charged in. The crew managed to do one wound before it smashed them up.

Result: 3-17. Major Victory to my opponent.

Thoughts:  Well, it didn’t really start off the best, losing my Silver Helms and BSB in the first turn. However, I think that I still could have pulled it back with better playing. Since his warriors ended up on opposite flanks, I probably should have chosen a flank, and piled everything toward it. Also, once the Daemon Prince lost the Dragonbane Gem, I should have been throwing 6 dice at Burning Gaze and Searing Doom to bring him down. Also, I really needed to focus my shooting better in this game.I was shooting at many things instead of just focusing it on one target.

Game 3: High Elves vs. Empire

Scenario: Battle Line. You could call a Last Stand once per game to make any one unit pass a Leadership test.

Bonus Points: Not calling last stand (+3). Killing opponent’s most expensive Core unit (+1). Killing opponent’s unit that called a last stand (+1).

Deployment:

As one might expect, this game started off with a lot of shooting. Most things shot at the Phoenix. I think that he managed to kill it in the 1st turn, but maybe it was turn 2.

My Reavers flee from the Demigryphs. Also, you can see the wound on my Loremaster from using the boosted Searing Doom. I think between that an the bolt throwers, I did 6 wounds.

My Reavers flee from the Demigryphs. Also, you can see the wound on my Loremaster from using the boosted Searing Doom. I think between that an the bolt throwers, I did 6 wounds.

My right flank ignores his fast cavalry and moves up. I placed the Reavers in the way, like they are supposed to be.

My right flank ignores his fast cavalry and moves up. I placed the Reavers in the way, like they are supposed to be.

My Reavers charged the flank of his Demigrpyhs (to get out of the way of the Silver Helms). He fled with them, so they redirected into the knights. My High Helm fought in a challenge with his BSB. I was not impressed with the lack of kills that I did.

My Reavers charged the flank of his Demigrpyhs (to get out of the way of the Silver Helms). He fled with them, so they redirected into the knights. My High Helm fought in a challenge with his BSB. I was not impressed with the lack of kills that I did.

The Phoenix comes back to life behind the hill. The Phoenix Guard prepare for the Steam Tank to roll up. I think that I must have been able to fly the Phoenix over his fast cav, or maybe I shot a Bolt Thrower at them?

The Phoenix comes back to life behind the hill. The Phoenix Guard prepare for the Steam Tank to roll up. I think that I must have been able to fly the Phoenix over his fast cav, or maybe I shot a Bolt Thrower at them?

Fast Forward many rounds of combat. The Silver Helms were locked with the Knights for a long time. He had outriders support in the flank, which I eventually killed. The Demigryphs hit the flank, but were only adding combat res, since my BSB was locked in a challenge with his BSB. He kept casting Speed of Light. Eventually, the Swordmasters arrive in the flank of the Demigrpyhs and wipe them out in 2 rounds. It was too late for my BSB, though.

Fast Forward many rounds of combat. The Silver Helms were locked with the Knights for a long time. He had outriders support in the flank, which I eventually killed. The Demigryphs hit the flank, but were only adding combat res, since my BSB was locked in a challenge with his BSB. He kept casting Speed of Light. Eventually, the Swordmasters arrive in the flank of the Demigrpyhs and wipe them out in 2 rounds. It was too late for my BSB, though.

Meanwhile, the Phoenix Guard have been fighting the Steam Tank. When they are flanked by the knights, they turn to face them instead.

Meanwhile, the Phoenix Guard have been fighting the Steam Tank. When they are flanked by the knights, they turn to face them instead.

My Swordmasers charge the Knights. He chooses to flee, but I catch them.

My Swordmasters charge the Knights. He chooses to flee, but I catch them.

He manages to break and catch my Phoenix Guard and then takes out one of my Bolt Throwers.

He manages to break and catch my Phoenix Guard and then takes out one of my Bolt Throwers.

Result: 7-13. Minor Victory to my opponent.

Thoughts:  Overall, I felt that I played this game much better than the others. With all of his high armour saves on the table, I probably should have set up my Bolt Throwers in the corners for some flank shots. Also, my first priority should have been his fast cav. Once they were cleared out, I could use my Reavers to hold up his advance.

I think that I took too long with the Swordmasters moving up to support he Silver Helms in combat. They fought for many combat rounds, and I was at a disadvantage since he kept getting of Speed of Light.

Overall Thoughts:

It was fun to get out and play once again. I will admit that I was a little disappointed that I didn’t manage to win a game, but I did manage to improve my results by the end. I had once again thought about scrapping the army list, and just going with an all flying/cav list, but I think that I will probably stick with this one.

One of the things that really caught me off guard at the tournament was that my last two opponent’s weren’t using artillery dice when rolling scatter/bounces for their war machines. It took me a while to figure out what was going on, since I hadn’t seen this before.

Once again, my lack of experience was really against me. When I think about it, I probably need to focus on these areas:

  1. Deploying Better
  2. Spell Selection – I made some poor spell selections with my High Mage. In most instances, I should have defaulted 2 spells to the signatures due to their low casting values, which lets me take more advantage of the Book of Hoeth.
  3. Spell Prioritization – I probably could have cast better spells or cast them in a better order
  4. Knowledge of Other Armies – Time to study

In the end, I was happy to see the other High Elf player walk away with the trophy. At least somebody is representing the High Elves well in the local scene! I almost had the Winds of Magic quiz, but I missed out on the statline of the Skaven Clanrat. For some reason, I thought they had the same Initiative as an Elf. I guess that it is only as good as our horses.

Well, back to painting now. I’m not sure how likely the next 2 tournaments are for me to make it to, but hopefully, I can have even more painted before the next one I get to!

Armies

After the first game, everybody set out their armies to be judged for the painting awards. I went around and took pictures of most of them. I realized that I missed taking pictures of our armies. One of them was mine, another my 3rd round opponent (all bare plastic), and for some reason IggyKoopa’s…. I’m not really sure why I didn’t get that one, since it is a nice looking army.

Overall, there were a lot of nice looking armies present. The Bretonnian army was what I had envisioned doing back when I owned Brets and before I realized the difficulty of getting anything to that standard.

10 responses to “2500 Point Tournament – Valentine’s Day Massacre Results – February 22nd

  1. Flames – Nice LONG Write-up! I enjoyed reading through it and I know what you mean about having rust after not playing for so long. I’m in the same boat. It’s always good to get out and play some games though, win or lose, although it’s always more fun to win. At least you got better with each game, though. I was kinda bummed about not pulling out the win in that last game and had some things go wrong for me during the game, but alas, that’s the way the dice roll sometimes. Glad you made it out and hopefully we’ll see you at a couple more tournaments.

    • Thanks. I’ve found that the pictures are really nice to remind me what happened (and I don’t have to take notes), and probably give a better idea to readers of what happened. It will look so much better when I finally get my whole army painted, and get rid of the blurriness…

      You didn’t do too bad for being rusty, almost taking the top, but you also have more experience to call upon. I remember seeing the other High Elf army before the tournament, and I didn’t think it was all that powerful. That shows what I know.

      I will try to make it out when I can. We’ll see when that is…

  2. A great read as always, thanks for sharing. I’ve found that taking notes and pictures during games and posting them later really helps me to improve my play. It sounds like you had a great time and I was pleased to enjoy it vicariously through you!

    • It was definitely fun to get out and play again. The pictures have definitely helped me to remember and think through things a lot more. Also, they are a bit quicker for me than the Battle Chronicler that you do. It is a great tool, but I feel like I am really slow with it. Thanks for reading.

  3. That is an insane number of WoC armies. If I had the cash, I’d purchase a Chaos Dwarves army, just to run something a little different. I did get my hands on a copy of their rulebook, and I was very impressed surprisingly enough.

    Great write up – and the pictures are a good touch too. I always enjoyed making battle reports, but taking pictures never entered my head during game. Too much else to think about.

    Sounds like you are learning though and the games appeared to be more competitive as the day went on for you. Now it’s just a matter of rulebook reading and getting to know all the opposing armies, opposing players, and everything in-between. As we all know – a bad army in a good players hands can be very dangerous, but a good army in a bad players hands can fall on it’s face. More to the game than just stats.

    Thanks again for the updates on the tournaments.

    • Yeah, I remember making a comment that it felt a bit like a Chaos Invasion at the event (8/20 armies). You need to make it out sometime and play. The tournaments are happening once a month right now.

      I still have much learning to do. I felt like I was fairly up-to-date before the onslaught of 8th edition books came out. Maybe it will slow down a bit and I can catch up. I’m sure that my army has much better potential than it is showing at the moment.

Leave a Reply

