2014 Plans

Now the we are in 2014, it is time for me to set out my goals for the new year. I have reduced the scope of my goals from prior years, and will hopefully be able to attain these ones. I know that there will be some down time this coming year, as there are plenty of distractions that will be happening. That being said, the goals are modest enough that I should be able to accomplish them. Here is my list for 2014:

Play in at least 2 tournaments

I was able to make it to two last year and would like to be able to repeat or better that. It really is a lot more fun when are getting to use your army, than it just sitting on the shelf.

Finish painting an entire 1,600 point High Elf army

As I mentioned in the Overall Thoughts of my tournament results post, I am going to try and stick with one list for a while. This will allow me a better chance of getting a fully painted army, and should help me make fewer mistakes. There has been a slight change, though. I have decided to remove one unit of Swordmasters and use the points to try out different units. This gives me 314 points that I can play with when designing my list.

  1. Loremaster
  2. 19 Archers (15 of are mostly done)
  3. 10 Ellyrian Reavers
  4. 22 Swordmasters (18 of these are almost done)
  5. 2 Bolt Throwers (completed 1 bolt thrower, but not the crew)
  6. 1 Eagle (already complete)

I will write another post about what I am thinking for the extra 314 points. There are just so many options…

Black Library Reading

My reading goals seem to be the easiest for me to accomplish. However, I don’t actually own any of these books at the moment, so I might not achieve this simply because I spend my money on other toys. We will see….

  1. Sword of Caledor
  2. Malekith’s Bane
  3. The Great Betrayal
  4. Master of Dragons

Going along with all of these Warhammer-related goals, I will still be doing plenty of board gaming and playing video games. Hopefully, these won’t detract from my progress on these goals. Who knows exactly what 2014 will bring? It seems there are plenty of rumors that we will have the 9th edition of Warhammer. That would be an interesting release…

Leave a Reply

