Hobby Lessons – Sprue Removal

Sprue Cutters

Well, it has been almost a month now since my last post. Needless to say, I have had a bit of a hobby hiatus. We have another tournament coming up this month, but I will miss out on it. The word is that the next tournament will require a fully painted army, so I really need to get that completed. In the meantime, I have another one of my hobby lessons for the new people out there…

This lesson that I learned is probably very obvious to some people, but I mostly came into this hobby on my own and didn’t have access to veterans to learn from, so I have made many mistakes.

When I really started in the hobby, I was fresh out of college, and didn’t have a whole lot of excess cash. With that in mind, I didn’t really see the need to buy some clippers to remove models from the sprues. After all, if I am careful, I can generally get them off by gently twisting the pieces until the join wears out, or for the ones that might break (spears, pikes, etc), just use an exacto knife. That leaves me more money (albeit not much) to spend on models instead.

For the most part, this method worked, but a couple of years ago, I decided that since I have purchased hundreds of models, and I have a bit more money than when I started, I would give the clippers a try. After all, the price for them is less than a model, and with a 40% coupon at Hobby Lobby, it helps to bring the price down a bit.

I have not been disappointed with my purchase. The sprue removal is so much easier and quicker than before. Sure, I still need to do a little clean-up after clipping them, but it is much easier. I wish that I would have picked a pair up when I first started.

Has anybody else not used clippers to remove models or have you found something even better?

Lesson Learned:

Buy some sprue clippers

One response to “Hobby Lessons – Sprue Removal

Leave a Reply

