2013 Plans – End of Year Review

With 2013 drawing to a close, it is time to see how close I came to accomplishing my goals set out at the beginning of the year, and then modified part way through the year to make them more attainable:

Play in at least 1 tournament (Played in 2!)

Finish painting an entire 1600 point High Elf army

  1. Loremaster
  2. 30 Archers (15 of are mostly done)
  3. 5 Ellyrian Reavers
  4. 40 Swordmasters (18 of these are almost done)
  5. 2 Bolt Throwers (completed 1 bolt thrower, but not the crew)
  6. 2 Eagles (already complete)

Finish my “Circle of Hoeth” (a mage model for each lore)

  1. High Magic
  2. Beasts
  3. Death
  4. Life
  5. Light
  6. Heavens
  7. Metal
  8. Shadow

The fire mage has already been completed, although I have thought about some changes for him once the other mages have been completed..

Black Library Reading

  1. Caledor
  2. Sword of Caledor
  3. The Great Betrayal
  4. Defenders of Ulthuan
  5. Sons of Ellyrion

It was exciting to be able to attend 2 tournaments this year. Sure, I got battered in the games, but I learned a lot and had a lot of fun. Hopefully, I can get some more games in during 2014.

From the hobby side of things, I haven’t progressed very well. I wrapped up the reading of the books that I own early in the year, which always turns out to be the easy part for me. On the bright side, it was a very exciting year with the release of a new High Elf book. Although I lamented some of the changes, I am very happy with the book, as I feel it has a lot of flexibility.

I made some progress in painting, which is always slow going, but I am pretty confident that I should have a really good shot at fielding a fully painted force next year. I had a little hindrance for part of this year, but I could have completed my army if I wasn’t so lazy, and didn’t play so many video games…

I am sure that my board gaming will continue strongly, since it is something that my son and I can do together and he is always eager to play. Maybe, just maybe, I might try to work on some small skirmish games with my Lord of the Rings models which have not really been mentioned on this blog so far…

Thanks for reading. I will be putting up a list of goals for 2014 in the near future.

One response to “2013 Plans – End of Year Review

Leave a Reply

