Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen

Well, I haven’t had any Warhammer updates for quite a while now, and Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen is largely to blame for that. I picked this game up in the pre-Black Friday sale from Amazon, and have been loving it. I never played the original game, but it sounded pretty good, and I am glad that I gave it a try.

For the most part, I have not liked open world games. I tried Morrowind and Oblivion, but never really got into them. The walking speed in Morrowind was painfully slow and the graphics were quite dated by the time I gave it a try. I played Oblivion more than Morrowind, but I really didn’t like the combat system. Also, I think that it was a bit too open for me. In the end, the enemy killing my horse, rather than fighting me was the last straw, and I ended up getting rid of it.

While Dragon’s Dogma still has some things I don’t like, I am having a lot of fun with it. The boss/large monster fights in the game are quite impressive.

To add some Warhammer into this post, my character is a Mage named Teclis and his pawn (constant traveling companion) is a Warrior named Teclis. They still have a long way to go to try and live up to those names…

Leave a Reply

