2013 Plans – 3rd Quarter Progress Check

Well, it is that time of the year again… The time for me to look back and see how little hobby that I have accomplished. Here is my revised list from 6 months ago:

Play in at least 1 tournament

Finish painting an entire 1600 point High Elf army

  1. Loremaster
  2. 30 Archers (started on 15 of these)
  3. 5 Ellyrian Reavers
  4. 40 Swordmasters (18 of these are mostly done)
  5. 2 Bolt Throwers
  6. 2 Eagles (already complete)

Finish my “Circle of Hoeth” (a mage model for each lore)

  1. High Magic
  2. Beasts
  3. Death
  4. Life
  5. Light
  6. Heavens
  7. Metal
  8. Shadow

Black Library Reading

  1. Caledor
  2. Sword of Caledor
  3. The Great Betrayal
  4. Defenders of Ulthuan
  5. Sons of Ellyrion

Once again, the only thing that I have managed to complete is a book reading. I started work on some of the archers for the list above and assembled my Sisters of Avelorn and Flamespyre Phoenix (not on the list above). Also not on the list above, I gave my thoughts on the new High Elves. The Special Character thoughts should show up every Friday for the next few weeks.

I really need to get to painting, and I think I need to just force myself to sit down and paint. Once I get started, I can gain some momentum, and it is much easier for me to continue. Admittedly, there were some unexpected circumstances for the last 6 months which hindered my ability to paint, but that is gone now. I am really hoping to have some hobby updates soon and actually get a painted army to field on the table.

There will probably be some board game reviews/gaming sessions splashed in the midst, too.

Also, I am stalling on ideas for the Beast wizard to use for my Circle of Hoeth. I have models for the others ones, but can’t seem to find a model for the Beasts guy. At this point, I am thinking that it might be a conversion. Let me know if you have any ideas.

Thanks for reading!

2 responses to “2013 Plans – 3rd Quarter Progress Check

  1. Hey, it’s been a while for me on here… Glad to see you’re still doing updates. I’m getting back into it and I stumbled across this post… I had a 2013 Gaming Resolutions post as well… and after reviewing it, well, let’s just say I failed! I have missed out on so many things but at least I have good excuses. I was out of the country for 4 months!!! Glad to see you active and hopefully we get the chance to play in a tournament soon. I’m working on additions to the Lizardmen and Beastmen also. A little 40k sprinkled in there as well. Stay up!

    • It is good to have you back. I don’t think that my reasons for not meeting my goals have been all that good, because when I really think about it, I know that I could have accomplished more. At least there is still some of 2013 left, and I hope to make up for it. I have tried to keep posting, even if I don’t have a whole lot going on. It would be great if we could play in a tournament soon. I still need to try out these new High Elves!

Leave a Reply

