The Fall of Rome

Fall of Rome

Well, as I mentioned previously, I picked up Rome 2 for my PC. I have been putting many hours into the game over the last two weeks, but I’m going to have to call it quits for now. While I do enjoy the game, it really feels that I am playing a beta version of it, and I will just choose to wait until they iron out the more glaring issues. The real deal-breaker for me is the new one that makes my game crash after I end my turn. There are some other issues, too, but that was the proverbial straw.

There are a lot of things that I like about the game and many things that I don’t. I can deal with the difference in design decisions, but it really feels that they rushed a game out before it was done. I will give it time to recover and come back in a month or two to see how it is. It is sad, since I was really anticipating the release of the game, but I haven’t given up on it totally. It’s not like I don’t have other things that I can be doing.

That being said, there is a 1600 point Warhammer tournament this weekend and I am really wanting to go to it. I will have to get clearance from the boss and check with the Tournament Organizer to see if I can show up 30 minutes late, since I have other non-negotiable commitments that morning (unless we have lots of rain…).

Assuming that it all works out, I will need to get a list together. I posted a 1600 point list a while back, which I was planning on taking to my next 1600 point event, but I have had second thoughts since then. The previous list would probably be more effective, but there is another “fun” option that I have thought of since then. I know that I have told myself that I wanted to be more competitive and try to win more, but this new list is nagging away at me.

I’m sure that I will enjoy playing either list, so it will be a tough choice. If I choose a new list, be prepared for a massive bombardment of fluff and, if the beginning of this blog is any indication, this place can be quite fluffy…

2 responses to “The Fall of Rome

Leave a Reply

