1600 Point – Loremaster List

It has taken me a while, but I have finally put together a 1600 point list with the new book. The local tournaments have been targeting 1600 points recently to support players new to the game, so I thougth that I better get one together in case I get a chance to play. I decided to try out the Loremaster, since I think that his dual role might be ideal for a low points game, which led me to kind of a Hoeth-themed army list.

Lord

Loremaster, Sword of Might, Shield of the Merwyrm, Dragonbane Gem, Ironcurse Icon, Book of Hoeth

The Loremaster is the only character in this army. He ends up with a 5+ armour save, 4+ parry save in close combat, and Strength 5 attacks. The armour save is weak, but I thought that adding the 4+ parry save was more important, since it protects against high Strength attacks. The Book of Hoeth is to help power through more spells, hopefully with only 2 dice each. I will most likely need to keep my army compact, so that the signature spells can reach the target that most needs the help, and I don’t want to have to be using the boosted version just for the range.

Edit: Added the Ironcurse Icon with the extra points to give some small protection against war machines

Core

15 Archers, Musician

15 Archers, Musician

Now that the archers can fire in 3 ranks, they have been expanded to 15 per unit. Combine with the Bolt Throwers, they can hopefully thin out the enemy’s ranks before they approach. I opted for the archers over the spearmen, since I can get 30 of them for around the same points and the 5+ armour on the spears rarely does anything.

5 Ellyrian Reavers, Musician, Bows

The reavers will help the Eagles in redirecting enemy units. I didn’t have enough points, so I had to drop the bows from them. That means that they will be used almost exclusively for redirecting, but might occasionally do a flank charge. Edit: I found the points to give them bows, so now they can redirect and still shoot, too. I’m not sure how effective 5 Strength 3 shots will be each turn, but I will give it a try.

Special

22 Sword Masters, Standard, Musician, Banner of Eternal Flame

21 Sword Masters, Standard, Musician, Gleaming Pennant

Here is the main combat power of the army. It really is unfortunate that the Sword Masters no longer receive re-rolls. I think that Sword Masters are possibly the weaker of the elite infantry units, but I do like the models and I have some of these painted. Also, they make sense to be in an army with a Loremaster. If I take a step back and think about it, 2 Attacks at WS 6, Strength 5, and Initiative 5, isn’t that shabby, right?

Edit: The units don’t have champions. I swapped the Standard of Discipline for the Gleaming Pennant and with the extra points, added another Sword Master.

Rare

Great Eagle

Great Eagle

The eagles will be used for redirecting and holding stuff up.

Bolt Thrower

Bolt Thrower

As much as I wanted to use one of the new Phoenix models, I just can’t justify the points, especially in this list. I was thinking about it over the weekend. Is a Phoenix really better than 3 Bolt Throwers? Maybe it is, but for the lower points, I opted to go with the long distance option.

I’m sure that this isn’t the most optimal list. A more competitive choice would most likely be to swap out the Sword Masters for some White Lions or Phoenix Guard. This list is very susceptible to enemy shooting. Also, I didn’t fit in the Banner of the World Dragon. Maybe I will add it after I play some more so that miscasts don’t put big holes in my units.

Provide comments and suggestions below.

6 responses to “1600 Point – Loremaster List

  1. It looks to be very strong with a solid mix of ranged and H2H units. I too questioned the use of a Phoenix in low point games and thought a few bolts might serve a better purpose. Course that could all depend on who / what you face. Each has specific strengths obviously. I’d say play test each one and see which units fit your play style. The Phoenix model might be the perfect compliment to the rest of your army.

    I envision the Sword Masters being a relatively high point value unit, correct? Do you run them 7 wide?

    My Ogres or WoC’s would be up for the challenge if you ever wanted to give these lists a test run. I also have access to Dwarves, Dark Elves, Skaven, VC’s, Empire and Lizardmen too (armies of close friends).

    • Yeah, the Sword Master units are around 300 points each. I actually found that I only calculated a champion in one, so I rearranged things a bit. The plan is to run them 7 wide, so that they could put out 28 attacks in one round.

      Would you be able to make it to the shop around 1:00 or so in the next 2 days to get a game in? I’ll probably only be able to make it one day, but let me know which works best for you and we can try and get a game in.

  2. That looks really interesting. Those two blocks of Sword Masters are going to blend just about anything they touch. The Loremaster looks to be an interesting option and I look forward to reading how it plays out on the table. With the choice of a variety of augmenting spells you should be able to get something on whichever unit is in combat. I’m always a bit unsure about lists without a BSB though, as a single unlucky break or panic check can blow the whole game away.

    • Yeah, I am hoping that the Loremaster works out well. He is more expensive than an Archmage, but adds more versatility in the magic options. I’ll have to see if I suffer from only the +2 to dispel.

      I’m not a big fan of not having a BSB in lists either. At the 1600 points tournament that I played at a couple of months ago, it was amazing how many Leadership 9 tests that I failed.

      Unfortunately, he comes in at about 140 points, which is about the same as 10 Sword Masters or 2 Bolt Throwers, so I opted for those instead. But, I did find an error in my list calculation, which has shuffled the list a bit. I have added the Gleaming Pennant now, so one unit gets a re-roll one time. Not much, but it gives the one unit a 2nd chance.

Leave a Reply

