Mathhammer Monday – Attuned to Magic

Well, I had originally expected to be writing more about the High Elf book right now, but due to some issues, it is up in the air whether I will receive the Limited Edition version of the High Elf Army Book that I ordered. I am guessing that at this point, I will have to settle for a ‘normal’ edition, but am waiting to hear the official word before I go and buy one.

With that being said, I thought that I would take a different approach on Mathhammer Monday and briefly talk about the Attuned to Magic special rule that the Phoenixes have.

So, when the High Elf player rolls on the Winds of Magic, the highest D6 affects all of the Phoenixes that are in the player’s army. The percentage next to each value shows the chance of each occurring.

  1. 6+ Ward (2.7%)
  2. -1 Strength (8.3%)
  3. +1 Initiative (13.9%)
  4. +1 Attack (19.4%)
  5. +1 Strength (25%)
  6. 4+ Ward (30.6%)

So, 9 out of 10 times, you should end up with a beneficial effect (3-6) from the Winds of Magic, with the best chance being the upgrade of the Ward Save to 4+.

Obviously, you can’t bank on any of these occurring, but it gave me something to do while I am waiting to hear about my book, and it was nice to see that most of the time, the Phoenix should be improved by the Winds of Magic roll.

Leave a Reply

