Blood in the Badlands

Well, I finished reading through my copy of Blood in the Badlands the other day, so I am going to provide my review.

What is Blood in the Badlands?

Blood in the Badlands is a Warhammer campaign that some of the GW staffers played through. They basically, created a massive board using the Mighty Empires tiles and then came up with a story and special rules to support that story in the campaign. They played it out over the course of a year (campaign year, not a real-world one).

New Rules

It contains rules for fighting underground and siege battles (including new Cataclysm (Storm of Magic) spells, war machines, and defense upgrades). It also contains some new magic items of varying power, but since they are given as campaign prizes, they do not have points costs associated with them, so can’t just be plugged in to any battle. New scenarios are included, but many of them are geared to supporting the campaign, so might require modification to be used with other forces. Other campaign-specific rules, like a random events chart, racial bonus, seasonal effects and special terrain features are included.

Other Contents

The book is focused on documenting the campaign, so it shows the armies that participated, including some correspondence (trash talk, calls for help, etc) between the players during the campaign. It also contains players’ movements during the turn and short battle reports for each battle (the dominant theme being the Hell Pit Abomination or Khemrian War Sphinx destroyed everything). Oh yeah, it has tons of pictures in it, too.

Final Thoughts

Overall, it was a nice read. I honestly don’t think that it was worth the $33 that it cost, and could have just been fit into White Dwarf over a couple of issues, but it is nice to have it all in one spot. The overall tone of the book seems to be geared towards the more casual (somebody just playing for fun) and less-competitive gamer since it really seems to encourage players to create their own rules to make their games/campaigns play how they like. Of course, that would all depend upon the group of people involved…

I have also finished reading my copy of Dragonmage, so I will get that review out in the near future.

2 responses to “Blood in the Badlands

  1. Hey, thanks for the review on this. I always like the campaign books that GW comes out with… however, I wasn’t sure about this one. GW’s position has always been to go the route of using White Dwarfs to showcase their new items (they used to even give some free stuff out with your purchase…) and i couldn’t help but notice your comment about that. I’ve skimmed through the book and haven’t decided if I want to buy it yet. I’m excited that you said it’s geared more towards the casual gamer… I guess I’ll have to do some more research before I actually buy it. Thanks for your input! Really helps me out!

    • The more casual part definitely appealed to me and if I was able to play more, I would be up for participating in a campaign if somebody was running it. If you have any specific questions, let me know and I will try to answer them.

Leave a Reply

